Another VW Victory

VW finished 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the FIA Opri Rally of Mexico! Despite starting the final day with a deficit of over 9 minutes, the team managed to claim all three podium positions. This follows on from their historic third place victory in the 2005 Dakar and their first overall victory in the Rally Port las Pampas earlier this year.

Bruno Saby celebrated the Touareg prototype's second victory together with his co-driver Michel Peri and has increased his World Cup lead after the third Rally of the season. This is also his third Morocco victory of his career.

As ever in Raid Rallying, reliability was key and the bespoke Xtrac gearboxes and differentials fitted to the VW Touareg performed faultlessly along with the rest of the car and Saby took the lead when Peterhansel retired with a steering problem on the final loop of the Rally.

The South African, Giniel de Villiers and his Swedish co-driver Tina Thorner had a perfect debut with Volkswagen by claiming second, whilst Jutta Kleinschmidt and her co-driver Fabrizia Pons, completed the team success by finishing third. We would like to congratulate the entire Volkswagen team on their victory and wish them well in the remaining rounds of the Cross Country Rally Championship.

Return to listing